clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Announcing the 2013 Eater Awards for Denver

It is time now—drumroll, trumpets, gongs.—to announce the winners of the 2013 Eater Awards. In over a dozen categories in 27 cities, the winners comprise a diverse group of the finest and most interesting chefs, operators, and characters in the continent that have defined this year in dining. We applaud them. You are hereby instructed to applaud them. So, without further ado—actually, a few quick pre-ambling thoughts....

To recap, Eater's local editors in 27 cities nominated candidates for five major local categories: Restaurant of the Year, Chef of the Year, Bartender of the Year, So Hot Right Now Restaurant, and Stone Cold Stunner. Eater readers then voted to narrow the field to a final three in each category. From that final three, the Eater editorial team chose the winner. Our Eater National brain trust then got together to decide the national winners for those categories. In addition to these main stage winners, said Eater editorial team has named worthy winners in more specialized categories, for myriad notable achievements.

Nominees and winners alike will be feted at a party tonight in Manhattan. Those winners that couldn't make it should watch their mail for packages containing cans of Italian peeled tomatoes. And now, without further ado, the winners in Denver.

Click through for the full rundown of winners across the country on Eater National.

Eater Awards 2013

Restaurant of the Year
Nominees: Acorn, Beast + Bottle, Frasca Food and Wine, Old Major, The Populist
Finalists: Old Major, Beast + Bottle, Acorn
Winner: Old Major

Chef of the Year:
Nominees: Alex Seidel, Jennifer Jasinski, John Broening, Justin Brunson, Steve Redzikowski
Finalists: Justin Brunson, Jennifer Jasinski, Steve Redzikowski
Winner: Jennifer Jasinski

So Hot Right Now
Nominees: Acorn, Colt & Gray, Comida, Session Kitchen, Williams & Graham
Finalists: Comida, Session Kitchen, Acorn
Winner: Comida

Bartender of the Year
Nominees: Sean Kenyon, Bryan Dayton, Adam Hodak, Marcel Templet, Mike Henderson
Finalists: Bryan Dayton, Marcel Templet, Sean Kenyon
Winner: Bryan Dayton

Stone Cold Stunner
Nominees: Cafe Max, Izakaya Den, Old Major, RootDown, Session Kitchen
Finalists: Izakaya Den, Cafe Max, RootDown DIA
Winner: Izakaya Den

Empire Builder of the Year
Winner: Troy Guard

· All Coverage of the Eater Awards [EDen]


3350 Brighton Blvd, Denver, CO 80216 303-296-2747 Visit Website

Old Major

3316 Tejon Street, , CO 80211 (720) 420-0622 Visit Website

Izakaya Den

1487A South Pearl Street, , CO 80210 (303) 777-0691 Visit Website

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Eater Denver newsletter

The freshest news from the local food world